USM to submit 13 GS programs for AACCUP accreditation, becomes first SUC to be evaluated online

USM to hold first ever virtual graduation rites
July 27, 2020
Bill Atweh joins USM as guest professor, donates smartphones to deserving students
August 29, 2020

Ensuring quality education under the ‘new normal’ sees the introduction of new mode of accreditation by the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines, Inc (AACCUP). University of Southern Mindanao (USM) will be the first state university and college (SUC) to submit 13 Graduate School programs for the first online AACCUP accreditation scheduled on August 24-28, 2020.

Aside from USM and AACCUP making history, this will also be the first accreditation under the tutelage of Prof. Jennifer Sinco, University Quality Assurance Center (UQAC) director, and Dr. Leorence Tandog, Graduate School (GS) dean.

In an interview with the University Public Relation and Information Office, Prof. Sinco confirmed on Friday that 13 programs under the Graduate School will be surveyed for Level I accreditation on Monday.

Graduate School Programs

  1. PhD in Rural Development
  2. Master of Arts in Language Teaching (English)
  3. Master of Arts in Language Teaching (Filipino)
  4. Master of Arts in Teaching Industrial Arts
  5. Master of Engineering in Rural Infrastructure Engineering
  6. Master in Public Administration
  7. Master of Science in Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
  8. Master of Science in Extension Education
  9. Master of Science in Plant Breeding
  10. Master of Science in Teaching (Biology)
  11. Master of Science in Teaching (Mathematics)
  12. Master of Science in Teaching (Chemistry)
  13. Master in Information Systems

“Since we will be the first SUC to be accredited online, the stakes are high,” Prof. Sinco said. “But we approach this challenge with positive outlook and strong support of our USM administration headed by our President Dr. Francisco Gil N. Garcia, GS Dean Dr. Leorence Tandog, and the program coordinators.”

The gathering of documents, according to Dr. Tandog, had already started last summer but the accreditation team needed to start from scratch when the new mode of evaluation was announced by AACCUP to fit the new normal.

“Initially the accreditation was scheduled in September 2019, but we had to move it to a later date to give ample time to accomplish all the legwork,” explained Dr. Tandog. “From 15 programs, only 13 were given the go-signal to proceed with Level I AACCUP accreditation”.

Meanwhile, GS Associate Dean Dr. Jeanette Licaros, when asked about the challenges posed by the new mode of accreditation, cited the packaging of the required documents and the new procedures for online submission.

While braving the COVID-19 scare, the program coordinators have been juggling accreditation preparations alongside the ongoing module-making and VLE training in USM for the incoming semester.

GS Program Coordinators:

  1. Dr. Moveta P. Balala – PhD/MS in Extension Education
  2. Dr. Mitzi Aileen M. Alba – PhD in Rural Development
  3. Dr. Efren E. Mangulama – MS in Plant Breeding
  4. Dr. Donnie M. Tulud – MALT English
  5. Dr. Shandra C. Gonsang – MALT Filipino
  6. Dr. Estrella E. Dela Cruz – MST Chemistry
  7. Dr. Leorence C. Tandog – MST Math
  8. Dr. Jul-Aida U. Enock – Master in Public Administration
  9. Prof. Astrofil Hyde M. Alcala – Master in Information System
  10. Prof. Solomon L. Presto – Master of Arts in Teaching Industrial Arts
  11. Engr. Ronald A. Garbin – MERIE
  12. Engr. Ronel M. Alucilja – MS ABE
  13. Dr. Tessie E. Lerios – EdD Biology/MS Biology

Interestingly, the new mode of accreditation proves to be a positive development among the program coordinators. “Area coordinators feel less stress in gathering the documents because only relevant and specific documents are being asked now. As compared to the old mode of AACCUP accreditation, numerous documents should be prepared since it uses various parameters,” Dr. Tulud said.

AACCUP Executive Director Dr. Milabel Enriquez-Ho, in a letter addressed to President Garcia, thanked USM for the valued support and accepting the challenges posed in the new normal with the online accreditation.

A total of 26 accreditors from different SUCs in the country will comprise the accrediting team for the 13 program offerings of USM GS. Two accreditors, composed of a team leader and a member, will assess every program.


  1. PhD in Rural Development:
    • Dr. Benica S. Briones (PangSU), Team Leader
    • Dr. Judith E. Daracan (ISU)
  2. Master in Information System:
    • Dr. Elbert M. Galas, (PangSU) Team Leader
    • Dr. Charlotte B. Carandang
  3. MA in Language Teaching (English)
    • Dr. Marlina L. Lino (MMSU), Team Leader
    • Dr. Helen F. Delos Santos (PNU Ret.)
  4. MA in Teaching Industrial Arts
    • Dr. Ruben E. Borja III (BulSU), Team Leader
    • Dr. Glorimer L. Clarin
  5. Master of Engineering in Rural Infrastructure Engineering
    • Dr. Elmer C. Castillano (USTSP), Team Leader
    • Engr. Cesar M. Bartolo (TSU)
  6. Master in Public Administration
    • Dr. Edwin T. Caoleng (TSU), Team Leader
    • Dr. Nino B. Corpuz (TSU)
  7. MS in Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
    • Dr. Bethany Grace Calixto (MMSU), Team Leader
    • Dr. Editha Perey (LSPU)
  8. MS in Extension Education
    • Dr. Karen P. Andres (PRMSU), Team Leader
    • Dr. Jasper Jay N. Mendoza (TSU)
  9. MS in Plant Breeding
    • Dr. Adolfo C. Manuel, Jr (CavSU),, Team Leader
    • Dr. Rosie S. Abalos (PangSU)
  10. MS in Teaching Biology
    • Dr. Jane G. Cabauatan (ISU), Team Leader
    • Dr. Fely T. Corpuz (ISU)
  11. MS in Teaching Mathematics
    • Dr. Edwin C. Mina (ISU), Team Leader
    • Dr. Rosalinda G. Nones (WVSU Ret.)
  12. MS in Teaching Chemistry
    • Dr. Roque A. Ulep (MMSU), Team Leader
    • Dr. Hedeliza A. Pineda (CTU)
  13. MA in Language Teaching (Filipino)
    • Dr. Bernadette D. Bagalay (ISU), Team Leader
    • Dr. Mary Joy A. Castillano (PUP)

AACCUP accreditation is one of the quality assurance mechanisms which supports the University’s aim towards a more dynamic and excellent delivery of instruction and service.

The opening program for the accreditation will take place at 10:00 am on Monday, August 24 at the Admin Skyroom.