USM Joins Newly Created MINSUPALA-IRDC Innovative Research and Development Consortium

USM and Korean-based NGO sign MOU to Support Durian Industry
July 18, 2023
75 Research Papers Presented During USM Midyear In-House Review 2023
July 21, 2023
MOU Signing of SUC Presidents for newly created MISUPALA-IRDC consortium

The University of Southern Mindanao joins a consortium of agencies formed to coordinate regional innovative research and development priorities anchored on the Philippine Development Plan 2023-2028. The newly created consortium, named MINSUPALA – IRDC (Innovative Research and Development Consortium), consists of state universities and colleges (SUCs) from Mindanao, Sulu, and Palawan. It was formalized through the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding held at the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) Regional Office, Koronadal City on July 20, 2023.

The consortium aims to promote innovative research and development for sustainable and inclusive development of communities in the MINSUPALA region, provide an avenue for joint planning, monitoring, evaluation, and sharing of R&D resources through collaborative interventions among its members, collaborate with the national and regional Government through DBM XII and consortium member SUCs in maximizing the utilization of research results to support regional development, and source other funds for the use in the implementation of R&D. Through the consortium, member institutions will be provided opportunities to enhance their research and extension capabilities, participate in the consortium’s key activities, access technical support and endorsement to develop and package R&D proposals for possible funding from DBM through DBM Region XII, and utilize recommended relevant R&D management tools.

The IRDC will be hosted by DBM Region XII being the proponent of the organic program proposal submitted to the DBM National Office. Joining USM in the new consortium are Sultan Kudarat State University, Mindanao State University Maguindanao, Mindanao State University General Santos City, Cotabato State University, Adiong Memorial Polytechnic State College, South Cotabato State College, and Cotabato Foundation College of Science and Technology.

The MOU signing was attended by SUC Presidents, DBM Secretary Amenah F. Pangandaman, and DBM Regional Director Akmad J. Usman.