USM faculty bags slot to China’s list of top scholars

USM-CHEFS gathers awards during the AHToMP 2021 National Inter-Collegiate Virtual Competition
June 5, 2021
New Banana Propagation Techniques Welcomed by Farmers
June 17, 2021

Adding to the international honors of the University of Southern Mindanao (USM), Kabacan, Cotabato, a faculty was awarded as one of the Chinese Government Excellent Student Scholars in 2020.

Krizler Tanalgo, an instructor from the Department of Biological Sciences of the College of Science and Mathematics, is a 2013 USM graduate of BS in Biology major in Ecology and USM’s Most Outstanding Student in the same year. He is one of the eight student-awardees in China’s most prestigious scientific and research university.

A candidate of Doctor in Philosophy in Ecology at the University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS), he was nominated by UCAS as one of the representatives from its 104 institutes in a China-wide university competition. The awardees were selected from a competitive field of more than 80,000 international graduate studies with Chinese government scholarships from 279 universities and colleges across China. The result of the competition was published in the UCAS website ( in April 2021.

The recognition is one of the highest distinctions conferred to students based on their consistent track record in research, development, global collaboration, and cultural respect.

With his recent commendation, Tanalgo will be entitled to additional scholarship funds from the University of Chinese Academy of Science and the Chinese Ministry of Education to pursue his research.

Before becoming a certified global researcher, he was also a recipient of the following: The Most Excellent International Student of the University of Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2020; the highly commended candidate for the Tony Whitten Conservation Awards 2020, a recognition for early scientists for his contribution to global conversation especially in the Philippines; and one of the three Most Outstanding Students of the University of Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2018 for his research and leadership.